Deutsche Version   Deutsche Version

Motivation

My smartphone has an IR transmitter. With this I have already developed a remote control for my television. The aim is to control them by voice command. The MIT App Inventor has the SpeechRecognizer component. Unfortunately, this does not work continuously and emits an annoying tone at the start and at the end. The extension shown here works continuously and you can switch off the tones.


Version history

Version Adjustments
1.0 (2021-03-13) Initial version

Download

Usage

Reference

Properties

Functions

Events

Example PopupTest

Tools

Download

The UrsAI2ContinuousSpeech ZIP archive for download. The archive contains the source code, the compiled binary for uploading to the App Inventor and a sample application.

Verwendung

The sound can be turned on and off using the SoundEnabled property. To do this, the audio stream for system signals is muted, respectively the volume is reset. If the screen containing the component is cleared (onDestroy), the speech recognition is automatically switched off and the sound is switched on again. The end tone of the Android SpeechRecognizer is delayed. It is possible that Android switches the sound back on before the end sound is triggered. You can then hear the end tone.

Start and Stop start and stop the speech recognition. Unfortunately, the Android SpeechRecognizer component does not offer continuous operation. Internally, the speech recognition is restarted immediately after each cancellation until the call to the Stop function cancels this loop. There may be short recognition pauses lasting a few milliseconds before restarting. However, this did not have a negative effect in the tests.

The OnResult event supplies the result of the speech recognition. It is triggered when the speaker takes a break. OnPartialResult supplies intermediate results of the speech recognition. It is triggered approximately after every recognized word.

Internally, the process is roughly as follows:

Reference

Properties

SoundEnabled
Switches the system tones on and off.
Version
Gets the version of the extension.

Functions

Start ()
Starts speech recognition.
Stop ()
Terminates speech recognition.

Events

OnPartialResult (Text)
Intermediate result approximately after every spoken word.
OnResult (Text)
Result of speech recognition after a pause in speech. Speech recognition is switched off after this event.

Example PopupTest

 

The example recognizes voice commands and converts them into IR codes to operate my TV.

Components used:

When initializing, KeepAlive is switched on, the sound is switched off and speech recognition is switched on:

The speech recognition is done in the OnPartialResult event. This event provides the necessary data earlier than OnResult.

Only a few example commands and not the entire command set from the remote control example is implemented, .

The CheckCommand procedure evaluates of the results of the speech recognition:

 Text is the result of speech recognition, Command is the command to be checked against, and Code is an index in a list of IR codes. If a hit is found, the speech recognition is switched off first. This is necessary because a voice output immediately follows that is not intended to serve as its own input. The CallAction procedure sends the IR code associated with Code. Finally, "ok" is output via the voice output.

The global variable IsSpeaking controls the reactivation of the speech recognition. Usually the OnResult event, at which the speech recognition has to be restarted, is triggered before the end of the speech output. If a command is recognized, however, speech recognition should restart after the end of the speech output.

Tools

For developing own extensions I gathered some tips: AI2 FAQ: Develop Extensions.

Englisch version   English version

Motivation

Mein Smartphone hat einen IR-Sender. Mit diesem habe ich bereits eine Fernsteuerung für mein Fernsehgerät entwickelt. Ziel ist es, die per Sprachbefehl anzusteuern. Der MIT App Inventor besitzt die Komponente SpeechRecognizer. Dieser arbeitet aber leider nicht kontinuierlich und gibt beim Start und am Ende einen nervigen Ton aus. Die hier gezeigte Extension arbeitet kontinuierlich und man kann die Töne abschalten.


Versionshistorie

Version Anpassungen
1.0 (2021-03-13) Initiale Version

Download

Verwendung

Referenz

Eigenschaften

Funktionen

Ereignisse

Beispiel PopupTest

Werkzeuge

Download

Das ZIP-Archiv UrsAI2ContinuousSpeech zum Download. Das Archiv enthält den Quellcode, das kompilierte Binary zum Upload in den App Inventor und eine Beispiel-Anwendung.

Verwendung

Über die Eigenschaft SoundEnabled kann der Ton ab- und angestellt werden. Dazu wird der Audio-Stream für System-Signale stumm geschaltet bzw. die Lautstärke zurück gesetzt. Wenn der Screen, der die Komponente enthält, gelöscht wird (onDestroy), wird automatisch die Spracherkennung abgeschaltet und der Ton wieder angeschaltet. Der Ende-Ton des Android SpeechRecognizer wird verzögert ausgegeben. Es kann sein, dass Android das Wiederanschalten des Tons vor dem Auslösen des Ende-Tons ausführt. Man hört dann den Ende-Ton.

Start und Stop starten und stoppen die Spracherkennung. Die Android SpeechRecognizer-Komponente bietet leider keinen kontinuierlichen Betrieb. Intern wird die Spracherkennung noch jedem Abbruch solange direkt wieder neu gestartet, bis der Aufruf der Funktion Stop diese Schleife abbricht. Bis zum Neustart können kurze, wenige Millisekunden dauernde Erkennungspausen entstehen. Diese habe sich aber in den Tests nicht nachteilig ausgewirkt.

Das Ereignis OnResult liefert das Ergebnis der Spracherkennung. Es wird ausgelöst, wenn der der Sprecher eine Sprechpause macht. OnPartialResult liefert Zwischenergebnisse der Spracherkennung. Es wird in etwa nach jedem erkannten Wort ausgelöst.

Intern ist der Ablauf in etwa folgender:

Referenz

Eigenschaften

SoundEnabled
Schaltet die System-Töne an- und ab.
Version
Ruft die Version der Extension ab.

Funktionen

Start ()
Startet die Spracherkennung.
Stop ()
Beendet die Spracherkennung.

Ereignisse

OnPartialResult (Text)
Zwischenergebnis etwa nach jedem gesprochenem Wort.
OnResult (Text)
Ergebnis der Spracherkennung nach einer Sprechpause. Die Spracherkennung ist nach diesem Ereignis abgeschaltet.

Beispiel PopupTest

 

Das Beispiel  erkennt Sprachbefehle und setzt sie in IR-Codes zur Bedienung meines Fernsehgeräts um.

Benutzte Komponenten:

Gleich beim Initialisieren werden KeepAlive ein-, der Ton ab- und die Spracherkennung eigeschaltet:

Die eigentliche Sprachauswertung erfolgt im Ereignis OnPartialResult. Dieses Ereignis liefert die notwendigen Daten etwas früher als OnResult.

Es ist nicht der gesamte Befehlssatz aus dem Fernbedienungsbeispiel implementiert, sondern nur einige Beispielbefehle.

Die Prozedur CheckCommand übernimmt die Auswertung der Spracherkennung:

Text ist das Ergebnis der Spracherkennung, Command das Sprachkommando, gegen das geprüft werden soll und Code ein Index in eine Liste mit IR-Codes. Wurde ein Treffer gefunden, wird zuerst die Spracherkennung abgeschaltet. Dies ist notwendig, weil gleich darauf eine Sprachausgabe erfolgt, die nicht als eigener Input dienen soll. Die Prozedur CallAction sendet den mit Code verbundenen IR-Code. Zuletzt wird "ok" über die Sprachausgabe ausgegeben.

Die globale Variable IsSpeaking regelt das Wiederanschalten der Spracherkennung. Meist wird das Ereignis OnResult, bei dem die Spracherkennung wieder gestartet werden muss, vor dem Ende der Sprachausgabe ausgelöst. Bei einem erkannten Kommando soll die Spracherkennung aber erst nach dem Ende der Sprachausgabe erfolgen.

Werkzeuge

Für die Erstellung eigener Extensions habe ich einige Tipps zusammengestellt: AI2 FAQ: Extensions entwickeln. Auf der Seite findet man noch weitere Hinweise.